Pledge 1%’s #WomenWhoLead series celebrates female leaders who are paving the way for the next generation. While our featured leaders come from a variety of backgrounds and industries, they are united in their efforts to promote equality for all women in the workplace. We’ve asked them to share a bit about their journey to success, as well as lessons they’ve learned along the way.

What is your name and title?

Nisha Kadaba, Global Social Impact Programs at PagerDuty.

Briefly (1-2 sentences) describe your current role.

I channel our company’s resources to accelerate change in our local and global communities. I’m a passionate builder – from strategic partnerships and deep relationships, to innovative programs and campaigns.

In your opinion, what’s the #1 decision or move you’ve made that has helped advance your career?

I took the plunge and left my first job in Los Angeles to attend the University of Edinburgh in Scotland to get my Masters Degree in Environment and International Development. It was one of the first programs of its kind, critically examining the inter-relationship between development and the environment, with a specific focus on social and environmental justice. This foundational knowledge inspired me to investigate the role technology plays in solving the world’s most pressing challenges. I’ve embarked on a career working at the intersection of tech and social impact.

What is the most important lesson you’ve learned this past year?

Let go of what you can’t control. I had a baby in June 2020, and bringing our son into the world during such a tumultuous time forced us to focus on what we could control and hone in on what was really important for our family.

What’s the number one challenge you face as a woman in your industry?

The age-old question – how do you achieve work/life balance, especially during challenging times? I am passionate about motherhood and passionate about my career – how do I succeed at both?