cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Pledge 1
Community Manager
Community Manager

Pledge 1%'s #WomenWhoLead series celebrates female leaders who are paving the way for the next generation. While our featured leaders come from a variety of backgrounds and industries, they are united in their efforts to promote equality for all women in the workplace. We’ve asked them to share a bit about their journey to success, as well as lessons they’ve learned along the way. 

WWL 2022 - Headshots(16).png

Karen Chan

Executive / Project Lead, ADAPTOVATE

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

What is your current role? Briefly describe in 1-2 sentences. 

I am an experienced Agile Coach and Consultant who helps organizations achieve their business transformation objectives using agile frameworks and methodologies. I have led and coached teams at scale from initiation to execution. 

What’s the best part of your job? What do you enjoy the most?

At heart, I'm still a Quality Engineer - I want to make things better. My job gives me the opportunity to create sustainable, impactful change for clients and I'm able to use these skills in my volunteer work to support and strengthen my community and my profession. 

We’ve all faced personal and professional challenges these past two years - what motivates you to keep going?

It's knowing that the outcome I'm trying to achieve is worth the work, effort and time. For example, I believe it's incredibly important for there to be more women in STEM and in leadership; how I live this belief is by organizing events like Mathletics, mentoring new graduates and young career professionals through the engineering licensing process, and making sure our hiring processes and candidate pools are diverse and inclusive. 

What’s the best piece of advice you ever received? 

Look at things as an opportunity rather than a challenge. This flip in mindset is incredibly powerful.