WWL-8

Pledge 1%’s #WomenWhoLead series celebrates female leaders who are paving the way for the next generation. While our featured leaders come from a variety of backgrounds and industries, they are united in their efforts to promote equality for all women in the workplace. We’ve asked them to share a bit about their journey to success, as well as lessons they’ve learned along the way.

What is your name and title?

Bárbara Corvacho, Salesforce Consultant at cynqed.

Briefly (1-2 sentences) describe your current role.

I’m a Salesforce Consultant. Basically, I help companies reach their full potential with the help of Salesforce.

How did you get here? Please share any quick stories from past work experiences.

Despite being young, I already have different work experiences in very different companies. Soon as I finished my bachelor’s degree, I went to live in Prague and worked there. Then, came back to Portugal, worked in one of the biggest Portuguese companies, moved to a Big4 and then joined a start-up. All of this in 5 years.

In your opinion, what’s the #1 decision or move you’ve made that has helped advance your career?

Never settle. Don’t settle for a job you don’t like, a job that gives you a zero percent chance of growing or a job that doesn’t suit you. And the same goes for the company you work in. It is very important to be aligned with the company’s values and policies. Nothing worse than waking up and dreading to go to work because you don’t like it there.

What is the most important lesson you’ve learned this past year?

It’s really important to be in a job that you like and a company where you can be yourself and speak your mind. Working for a company that I had to change so I could fit in was one of the worst experiences I had in my life.

What’s the number one challenge you face as a woman in your industry?