Q1:  What is your Name and Title?

Gemma Sole, Cofounder and COO/CMO of Nineteenth Amendment

Q2: How long have you been in your current position?

3 years (!). Before this I worked in Venture Capital and Strategy and Communications consulting.

Q3:  What inspired you to work in this industry?

I’ve always loved bringing beautiful things to life. I’m an artist on the side and was very into fashion growing up. I went from consulting to the startup space and Nineteenth Amendment allows me to combine things that I care about: 1) helping creative makers do what they love , 2) helping small businesses grow and scale, 3) building things that are awesome.

In terms of fashion tech, the fashion industry really hasn’t had much innovation aside from effects of globalization (good and bad). What out platform does is provide the first real process innovation in fashion that is a win-win for all players. There is nothing more exciting than creating a business where everyone can win and talent is the determining factor.

Q4:  What would you tell women who are looking to work in tech?  Any advice on how they can build their career?

My greatest piece of advice would be to have conversations with real people in the industry you want to go into. This applies to any industry, but especially startups. The startup environment, the tools people use, the players change so quickly. You will learn so much more in one hour of conversation than an entire week or research, and you’ll be networking to boot.

As a woman, you have the ability to connect with other women in the industry who often want to help. So take advantage of it, just don’t forget to get the coffee and send that thank you. It’s also important you ask what you can do for them to show that you are willing to help and understand the value of their time.

Q5:  Is your company a Pledge 1% member or do you personally give back to your community? If so, how do you give and to what cause?