This profile is published as part of Pledge 1%’s Women Who Lead series, which celebrates women in the Pledge 1% community who are creating change within their workplace and communities.

Darine Pokawatana is the Director of Product Development at Causecast.

Q1: How long have you been working for your company?

I’ve been working with Causecast for 5 years. Having started off as a Quality Assurance Engineer, I made my way into Project Management and continued on into Product Management and Development.

Q2: What inspired you to work in this industry?

The opportunity to bring technology and innovation to philanthropy inspired (and continues to inspire) me. I find it difficult to not acknowledge the state of what is currently around us, and feel that providing to the various organizations that are aimed at improving the different areas in need is key in making our world a better place. At Causecast, technology has given us the tools we need to build a platform that benefits several nonprofit organizations, while focusing on engaging employees to make a societal impact through their workplace.

Q3: What would you tell women who are looking to work in tech? Any advice on how they can build their career?

My advice would be to find your passion within it, and go forth with full force. While the tech industry is currently male dominated, there’s something to be said about the women in tech that are on the rise. Find an employer who doesn’t see you for your gender, but for the skills and knowledge you have. It’s important to remember that the limits we encounter are those that we set for ourselves, so never settle for less. Know your worth, be confident in yourself, and let that be seen!

Q4: Is your company a Pledge 1% member or do you personally give back to your community? If so, how do you give and to what cause?