Shani-Hurwitz

Pledge 1%’s #WomenWhoLead series celebrates female leaders who are paving the way for the next generation. While our featured leaders come from a variety of backgrounds and industries, they are united in their efforts to promote equality for all women in the workplace. We’ve asked them to share a bit about their journey to success, as well as lessons they’ve learned along the way.

What is your name and title?

Shani Hurwitz, Senior Case Manager at Discovery Life.

Briefly (1-2 sentences) describe your current role.

I am a Senior Case Manager at Discovery Life. I assist clients who are going through disabilities to try and help them achieve their optimal life goals, despite the trauma that they are going through.

How did you get here? Please share any quick stories from past work experiences.

I am a qualified physiotherapist and love working with people. Working as a physio, people tend to “offload” their emotions during their treatment. It was then that I began to realize, not only the inherent link between pain and emotion, but the power of attitude in creating or destroying the ultimate story of your life, and I knew that I had to try and use this information on a greater scale.

In your opinion, what’s the #1 decision or move you’ve made that has helped advance your career?

Even when you are hating what you do at that moment, do the absolute best you can and treat every single human that you come into contact with, with the utmost respect.

What is the most important lesson you’ve learned this past year?

Gratitude. In your darkest hour, there will always be something to be grateful for. And once you find it, you will find the light.

What’s the number one challenge you face as a woman in your industry?