cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Pledge 1
Community Manager
Community Manager

Mandy-Ballinger-NextChapter

Pledge 1%’s #WomenWhoLead series celebrates female leaders who are changing the world. Our leaders come from a variety of backgrounds and industries, and are all doing their part to have an impact in their communities and at their workplace. We’ve asked them to share a bit about their background and path to success.

What is your name and title?

Mandy Ballinger, Director of Operations at NextChapter.

Briefly (1-2 sentences) describe your current role.

I manage daily operations, product development, and user support at NextChapter which is a cloud-based software application for attorneys to prepare , manage and file their cases online. I’m also responsible for managing and overseeing NextChapter’s paralegal operations.

What’s the best decision you’ve ever made?

Prior to my current role, I worked as a paralegal in a large law firm. While I was ambitious and moved up quickly into a management role, my path was very defined and safe. I never felt like I was reaching my full potential.

One of the best decisions I’ve made in my career was to take a leap of faith and join as the first full-time employee at NextChapter when it was a small startup on the verge of launching its product. I was new to the legal tech industry and there were so many unknowns, but it was an adventure that was just as scary as it was exciting.

From that position, I became the COO and helped launch & develop the product and grow the company to a team of more than 20 employees. Our rapid growth & success eventually got the attention of Fastcase, another legal tech company, who recently acquired us. I’m very proud of my accomplishments with NextChapter and Fastcase. I couldn’t have achieved those if I hadn’t taken a risk almost 5 years ago.

What’s the number one challenge you face as a woman in your industry?