Pledge 1%’s #WomenWhoLead series celebrates female leaders who are paving the way for the next generation. While our featured leaders come from a variety of backgrounds and industries, they are united in their efforts to promote equality for all women in the workplace. We’ve asked them to share a bit about their journey to success, as well as lessons they’ve learned along the way.

What is your name and title?

Caitlyn Child, Sr. Director of Sales at Fireclay Tile.

Briefly (1-2 sentences) describe your current role.

I develop and implement the sales strategy for our organization to help us dominate the high end tile market. I also drive sales and growth, to help create opportunities for personal and professional development within our team.

How did you get here? Please share any quick stories from past work experiences.

I studied art and architecture at the University of Oregon and spent the first years out of college working multiple jobs in art museums and running a volunteer program through Americorps. This lead me into a decade long career creating meaningful development plans and spearheading advocacy groups for adults with developmental disabilities. I went back to school to focus on Universal Design – blending my passion for architecture and design with social justice causes.

While learning more about the industry, I discovered a company that was equally passionate about social justice causes and was introduced to the world of sales. I started at Fireclay Tile as a sales rep and quickly moved into management. In that role, I grew our commercial channel and eventually took on a sales strategy role.

In your opinion, what’s the #1 decision or move you’ve made that has helped advance your career?