Pledge 1%’s #WomenWhoLead series celebrates female leaders who are paving the way for the next generation. While our featured leaders come from a variety of backgrounds and industries, they are united in their efforts to promote equality for all women in the workplace. We’ve asked them to share a bit about their journey to success, as well as lessons they’ve learned along the way.

What is your name and title?

CEO & Founder at EstateBox.

Briefly (1-2 sentences) describe your current role.

Currently, I have the pleasure of leading a team of talented individuals as we build a life and legacy planning platform.

How did you get here? Please share any quick stories from past work experiences.

I’m a lawyer by training and have spent the last decade working in technology and startup companies. I was finally inspired by life circumstances and career experiences to take a chance on my own idea.

In your opinion, what’s the #1 decision or move you’ve made that has helped advance your career?

I’ve always listened to people I respect and taken their advice to heart. I may not always agree with what they think, but my respect for them gives me pause to deeply consider their advice. This has served me very well and has had tangible effects – saving us money as we launch our own startup!

What is the most important lesson you’ve learned this past year?

Trust is everything. Due to my limitations as a cancer patient, I needed to find people I trusted deeply to help bring my vision into a reality, with as little input from me as possible at times. Without trust, this would not have been possible.

What’s the number one challenge you face as a woman in your industry?

Tech is known to be a male dominated industry – and fintech even more so.

Do you have any mentors? What does mentorship mean to you?