cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Pledge 1
Community Manager
Community Manager

Pledge 1%'s #WomenWhoLead series celebrates female leaders who are paving the way for the next generation. While our featured leaders come from a variety of backgrounds and industries, they are united in their efforts to promote equality for all women in the workplace. We’ve asked them to share a bit about their journey to success, as well as lessons they’ve learned along the way. 

Screen Shot 2022-11-19 at 8.43.13 PM.png

Kristin van Busum

Founder / CEO, Project Alianza

Boston, MA

What is your current role? Briefly describe in 1-2 sentences.

As the leader of Project Alianza, I work with our international team on developing and executing a strategy for bringing innovative, community-led education to poor, rural communities in Latin America. I am also a public speaking coach and teach an experiential learning class to MBA students at Boston University

What’s the best part of your job? What do you enjoy the most?

Hands down, our team. In Central America, our staff is compromised of women who are leading change in their local communities where conditions can be really, really rough. We work in rural, low-resource communities with high density of absolute poverty, meaning the majority of people live on about $1.50 a day. Roads are often flooded, the political climate is volatile, and many children are forced to work at an early age without labor protections. Our team lives their core principles, and even when circumstances seem impossible, they are relentless, committed, solution-finders. I guess you could say I work with super heroes. They are my favorite part.

We’ve all faced personal and professional challenges, especially during these past two years - what motivates you to keep going?